The Richard J. Margolis Award is given annually to a promising new journalist or essayist whose nonfiction work combines warmth, humor and wisdom and sheds light on issues of social justice.

The award honors the life of Richard J. Margolis (1929-1991), a renowned journalist, essayist and poet who gave eloquent voice to the rural poor, migrant farmworkers, Native Americans, aging adults and others whose voices are seldom heard. He also wrote several  books for children.

The award combines a one-month residency at Blue Mountain Center, an acclaimed writers' and artists' colony in New York’s Adirondack Mountains, with a $5,000 prize.

Richard J. Margolis

Dick Margolis gave powerful voice to those who are rarely heard. He was the consummate wordsmith whose writings had rhythm and touches of poetry even when delving into matters of dry public policy.

Learn about the gifted writers who have received the Margolis Award since its inception in 1992, and explore some of their works.


Adayfi has turned his 14-plus years of captivity at Guantánamo Bay Prison Camp into compelling narratives of human connection and hope.

Richard J. Margolis Award

c/o Margolis & Bloom

100 William Street

Suite 220

Wellesley, MA 02481



© 2018, Richard J. Margolis Award